Raaaaaw Brownie

Hello Sugar Junkies,

This blog post is for you, I have the next best thing to a deliciously chocolaty juicy brownie: The Raw Brownie

Last Saturday I invited some of my lovely girlfriends to come over for dinner at our house. I wanted to make something delicious, but still healthy. I made a beet hummus with some carrots, cucumbers and radishes to dip, after that we had a quinoa “fake” risotto/paella kind of meal, with chicken and chorizo, which was extremely delicious with a salad on the side, but I was really proud of my dessert.

Before starting this blog I read a lot of foodblogs, and I still do to get inspired and to fulfill my needs for pretty food photos and recipes. One of the blogs I like is Minimalist Baker, on that blog you will find some ridiculously creative and lovely recipes and that is where I have found the inspiration for the Raw Brownie. I really like the way raw foods are popular right now, last week on the Pure Markt I also saw a woman with a stand full of raw treats. It is a good thing that people try to get their sugar fix in a different way. I know that it is easier to grab a Mars bar at the supermarket, but if you are honest to yourself: Does it really taste good? I have to admit that some days it does, but when you compare it to the homemade treats: It really doesn’t! And do you know what it misses? Love and honest real foods.

But a Raw Brownie? Yeah people, never judge a dessert by its name! When you taste it you will embrace it and will think again when somebody introduces himself or herself by the name, Moon Unit, Banjo or Apple. It has only 5 ingredients and because I hate to through food away, I have used the almond pulp from the almond milk I made again.

Raw Brownie

For about 15 servings of brownie you’ll need:

  • 1,5 cups of raw walnuts
  • 1 cup of chopped raw almonds or almond pulp
  • 2 cups of good quality dates, I used Medjool Dates
  • ¾ cup of (raw) Cacao
  • 3 tablespoons of shredded coconut
  • A bread tin or brownie pan
  • Baking sheet
  • Food processor or good blender
  1. Blend the dates until it is finely chopped, mine turned out as a big ball of date dough. Then take it out of the food processor and put it in a bowl.
  2. Place 1 cup of walnuts (so not the whole thing) into the blender with the almonds, blend until all is finely chopped and add the cacao
  3. Now it is time to add the date dough piece by piece in the running processor or blender
  4. After a while it will all be blended into a big ball of raw brownie, you take it out of the machine and blend the rest of the walnuts by hand, so you have so bigger walnut pieces in your brownie
  5. Place a baking sheet into the bread tin or brownie pan and make a base of shredded coconut so that it is easier to take the brownie out of the tin later on, then add the raw brownie dough on top of it and press it into the mould with your hands
  6. You can put some walnuts and dust some cacao on top of it
  7. Place it into the fridge or freezer, for about an hour. This will make it harder and easier to cut into nice brownie pieces.You can keep it in the freezer in a container for 2 months!

You can keep it in the freezer in a container for 2 months!

Have a treat and enjoy it with a good cup of almond milk cappuccino

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Copyright © 2013 Room for Food. All rights reserved.
Geef een reactie

