Pure Markt In The Amstelpark, Amsterdam

PuremarktWhen I grow up I want to live in a house with a garden. In my garden I would have al kinds of colorful flowers, an apple tree and a small field with all kinds of vegetables, herbs and some smaller fruits like strawberries. Every day I would look out of my window with a cup of tea in my hand and look for some differences from the day before. Then I will go outside and plough, cut some flowers, dig a hole for a new blueberry bush and harvest the apples to make an amazing apple pie. That is my dream… In reality I live in a great apartment, but I do not really have a balcony, only a kind of hallway outside, I do not know the English word for.

So I am dependent of farmers markets. Luckily nowadays there are quit a few in Amsterdam, like the one every Saturday on the Noordermarkt. Every Sunday there is a Pure Markt (pure market) in a different area in Amsterdam, it is a market where different kinds of foods are sold from a pure origin and every second Sunday of the month it is in the Amstelpark near my gardenless house.

If you did the math, than you have figured out that yesterday was a second Sunday, so you probably understand where I was. I went with some friends and we strolled around, checked out all the amazing stands and tasted some foods.

Puremarkt3We met Ben and Sanne from Barefood. They make some incredible nut pastes in all kinds of flavors like: Coconut Cashew Cream, Maple Almond Bros, Zico Brazil Nut, Macadamia & Co and CACAO NOW! Itasted almost every one of them except the almond one, because I already have some experience with that one. We were in awe of the Coconut Cashew Cream. I had never tasted anything like it, it was like eating something that is horribly bad for your health, but it was full of only the good stuff, like coconut oil, cashews, maple syrup and sea salt. You think you miss some ingredients like E29930022 E38440 Acryphilostyphololoco, and all kinds of conservatives you can’t pronounce, but this is it. Just four ingredients, nothing more, nothing less. The CACAO NOW!  also was the bomb, a full explosion of cacao occurred in my mouth, but to protect myself from putting the pot to my lips and eat it in one session, I bought the Maple Almond Bros. I thought it was the safest option, but I taste the almond butter while writing this post and it is not like other almond butters I had. It is a soft, creamy nut butter with a really great maple sweetness and a little coconut flavor.

Puremarkt4The other cool things I bought, at another stand, were three different kinds of mint plants. I couldn’t keep myself from creating my own little garden, so I bought, Moroccan Mint that I will use in my tea, Strawberry Mint, which smells and tastes like strawberries. The lady that sold it to me, told me that it is great in desserts, so I can’t wait to try that. The third one was Black Peppermint, I thought that it would be like black pepper, but it smells and tastes more like a peppermint.  I am not really sure what I will use it for, but I thought it was cool to have natural peppermint in my wannabe-garden.

I also bought some great black olives and lovely small sweet strawberries, so you will understand that I am so happy with my “goody bag” from the Pure Markt. When you are a weekend in Amsterdam, you should check out where it will be that Sunday and go there, you won’t be disappointed

Have a great day and I will see you soon at Room For Food!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Copyright © 2013 Room for Food. All rights reserved.
Geef een reactie

