The Lambada Almond Pulp Bar

Almondpulpbars3This morning I had my first self made almond milk oatmeal. WOW, it was great! I consider myself a big girl now, because I made it with no help AND finished my plate. I have to confess that I did not know what to expect, since it smelled a bit funny because of the mediocre quality of the dates I used, so I am really looking forward to my new production of almond milk with the best quality of foods.

After filtering the milk, I was left with a pantyhose full of almond pulp. There was a time that I was searching all over the country for almond meal, because I saw a lot of foodies baking batches of cookies with it, so I was not going to throw this in the garbage bin and waste it. And off I went again, doing some research on the Internet, where I found a good recipe to make a kind of granola bar. I love granola bars, but most of them contain a lot of added sugar. When I make them myself they also contain sugar, as in fruit sugar or another sweetener and I can decide how much of it is good for me. Control freak, huh? YUP!

Almondpulpbars

Oh, the joy it was to make another treat for myself. While humming “the Lambada” (don’t ask) and shuffling through the kitchen I took:

  • Almond pulp leftovers from my almond milk
  • ½ cup of shredded coconut
  • 4 tablespoons of natural peanut butter
  • 1 or 2 tablespoons of agave (the pulp contains a little bit of the dates, so you don’t need a lot)
  • ¼ cup of flaxseeds
  • ¼ cup of cocao nibs
  1. Mix everything together and spread it on a flat plate
  2. Freeze it until it is hard and then cut it into pieces
  3. You can keep them in the fridge or in the freezer
  4. Enjoy and sing the lyrics of the Lambada out loud (phonetically of course)

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Copyright © 2013 Room for Food. All rights reserved.
Geef een reactie

