Rollende Keukens in Amsterdam

One of the best festivals I know is “Rollende Keukens” (Rolling Kitchens) in Amsterdam. It is a food festival at the Westergastfabriek organized by Mister Kitchen and Pacific Parc, where all kinds of street food cars are stationed for a few days.

rollende keukens 1rollende keukens 8

I went there yesterday with a few friends and it was heaven on earth. Everywhere you looked you could get food for a small price, from pastas to ice cream, to vegetarian soups, crepes, hamburgers and cotton candy. My friend and I walked about three rounds over the festival, just to decide what to eat. That is the downside of the “Rollende Keukens”, all the beautiful cars, smells, people and music over stimulated me. So it took me some time to pick something. Decisions, decisions… Finally after an hour I started with a pulled pork sandwich at the Smokey Goodness Barbeque. There was a long line, but it was worth the waiting, the sandwich was not to heavy and the coleslaw made it nice and fresh. If you don’t want to wait, than you should go to an amazing stand on the right of the Smokey Goodness Barbeque, called the Rolling Rock Kitchen. It is a real rock ‘n roll street food car, where they serve Bloody Mary Gazpacho and have great mojito ice creams.

rollende keukens 6

After my pulled pork I had some room for a small plate of mozzarella and tomato ravioli at the Eatery, it was a really nice pasta with great tomato, basil and capers sauce. These meals saturated my longing for savory food and I took a nice espresso at Bakkie to help my stomach process all the food I already had. It was the best coffee I had since quit some time, a good strong espresso, with a bit of a pure chocolate taste to it.

rollende keukens 9

As some of my readers know; I am a sweet tooth. So there is always room for something sugary. This took us some more time, because what should you choose? Lemon lavender cheesecake? Chocolate fondue? French toast? But then we smelled something I didn’t have in ages… Crepes!! The Crepes Mobiel had a long list of crepes and galettes (which are savory crepes), but this was not a hard one for me, because I wanted to taste something I have never had, a chestnut cream crepe. Holy crepe, that one was great. Sweet, nutty and I couldn’t imagine a better grand finale of my food adventure that day.

Me

rollende keukens 4

The festival is still going on and ends on Sunday the 12th. Just go, dive in the amazing food; headfirst and mouth wide open.

More info about Rollende Keukens

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Copyright © 2013 Room for Food. All rights reserved.
5 gedachtes over “Rollende Keukens in Amsterdam

  1. Anjo Angela Lim zegt:

    Hey Roos! You were missing for a while! Glad to see you back on WP 🙂

    Man that food festival looks so nifty and inviting. P.S. Lemon lavender cheesecake sounds To Die For……….!!!!

Geef een reactie

