Poached Egg In A Bunny Bean Field

Easter Bean Pile1Yesterday I walked through the supermarket and got blown over by all the Easter Festivities. There were eggs all over the place, I didn’t have to search for them, as for delicious breads, sweet pastries, beautiful lamb meat, assorted cheeses and butter. Butter? Yes, I think that is a tradition in Holland, to eat butter on everything when the Easter Bunny hops his way through the country. Ok, I am a little bit ironic here, but I actually love Easter deep in my heart.

When I was younger, the sun was always shining on Easter Sunday and we had a beautiful, with an accent on “full”, table with all kinds of breads, cheeses, a lamb shaped butter (you see, it follows you), jams and off course eggs. My dad made scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and chives, which were so good and we had boiled eggs that we painted a few days before with my mom. After our breakfast my brother and I would go outside in our pajamas and search for eggs. Our goal was to find as many chocolate eggs as possible, so that we could legally eat chocolate the whole day. Well, that is what I did and he would keep them for a week. Or so he thought, because I always sneaked in his room to snitch his eggs after finishing mine as fast as Usain Bolt walks 100 meter.

Anyway, Easter brings back great memories and now it is time to create new ones. This year I wanted to make something different from the things I traditionally make, therefore I widened the theme and added some spring in it. For me spring is, the scent of freshly mown grass, little lambs in the fields, it means that flowers are in bloom and eating all kinds of green beans.

That is way I got attracted to a recipe in the Allerhande, that is a magazine of the Dutch supermarket Albert Heijn , which I used as inspiration for this post.

Easter Bean Pile2

As a side dish for four persons you will need:

  • 350 ml of vegetable broth
  • A tablespoon of buckwheat flour (or normal flour)
  • 4 fresh eggs
  • 1 sliced leek
  • 400 grams of sliced string beans
  • 700 grams of fresh broad beans which you have to peel (leaves about 200 grams of beans)
  • 175 grams of cannellini beans
  • 2 hands full of rocket salad
  • 8 slices of bacon
  • 4 branches of sage
  • Half of a lemon
  • Pepper and Salt
  • A tablespoon of Olive Oil
  1. Take a big pan and warm the olive oil on a medium heat, add the buckwheat meal and mix it little by little with the broth. Bring it to a boil
  2. Add the leek, sage, string beans, broad beans, pepper and salt
  3. Put a lid on the pan and cook it for about 5 minutes on a low heat. Add the rocket salad at the very end
  4. Bake the bacon in another pan until it is crunchy
  5. Rinse the cannellini beans and set them aside
  6. Now over to poaching an egg: take a small pan and bring the water to a boil, than lower the fire and add some vinegar. Make a whirlpool for your, by stirring through the water in circles. Then quickly, but with care, break an egg in the whirlpool. The egg will stay in place and it will mold itself into a beautiful ball, let it cook for 2 minutes and than take it out of its bath with a slotted spoon. I always cook them one by one, after two eggs you will need to refresh the water and start over again with the other two. You can also try this: This is how Ronald Hoebe does it on FoodTube
  7. Finally take the beans of the fire and add lemon juice to it, you can also add some double cream
  8. Make a pile of the beans on every plate, throw some cannellini beans on that, then put two pieces of bacon on every pile and the poached egg on top of that
  9. Happy Easter!!!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Copyright © 2013 Room for Food. All rights reserved.
Geef een reactie

