Muddy Chocolate Truffles

Chocodadelbal2So, how was your weekend? Mine was really muddy! Sunday I participated in the “Mud Masters Obstacle Run” in the Netherlands. It is a 12-kilometer course where you run off-road and, as the name of the event tells you, a large part of it through mud. In between you have to work your way through 21 obstacles, like jumping over haystacks, going through ditches, balance on an Indiana bridge, and doing the monkey bars above water. It was a tough race, but I made it to the finish, where I was welcomed with “The Sizzler”, which is a gateway with electrically charged lines hanging above you. I think it was to recharge the battery of my body.

I was so happy when I finished, because I was a bit scared before the race; I did not know what to expect and how cold it would be. When I told people I was going to do this race, some people just looked at me with glazed eyes and a big question mark above their heads. “Why would you pay to join a race where you have to run through mud at 11am on your Sunday morning?” Well… because it is super cool!

Inspired by the race and in need of something sweet, I made these chocolate truffles last week. They were A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! My friends could not believe that there was nothing bad for you in these truffles! My Muddy Chocolate Truffles are based on a recipe from a beautiful food blog called “What’s Cooking Good Looking”. They look so nice with the crumbled goji berries sprinkled onto them.

For 15-20 delicious truffles I used:Chocodadelbal1

  • 1 cup of mixed nuts
  • 12 Medjool dates
  • 2 tablespoons of coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup of cacao powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • A small pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup goji berries
  • 3 tablespoons finely sliced dried coconut
  1. Preheat the oven to 175°C
  2. Pulse the nuts in a food processor until they are a fine consistency
  3. While the food processor is still running, throw in 1 pitted date at a time.
  4. Then, add the remaining ingredients and pulse until everything is combined. The mixture has to be a little bit sticky but still crumbly
  5. Place the mixture in a bowl and put it in the fridge for 20 minutes to an hour
  6. During this time, make the goji berry crumble. Place the dried goji berries and dried coconut in a food processor and pulse until they form small crumbles and put this colorful mixture on a plate.
  7. Take the muddy mixture out of the fridge and roll small balls out of it
  8. Then, roll the truffle in the goji berry crumble. A friend of mine used grated coconut; they looked and tasted just as nice
  9. Refrigerate again for at least an hour before serving. You can also freeze them, but please let the truffles defrost a little, before you will put your teeth into one
  10. Enjoy, take a look in the mirror while eating it and smile!!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Copyright © 2013 Room for Food. All rights reserved.
2 gedachtes over “Muddy Chocolate Truffles

Geef een reactie

