Lovely Buckwheat Porridge

Boekweitpap

The morning is my favorite time of the day. Especially when I am the first to wake up. I love the silence around the house, the world is still in a slow pace and it is breakfast time. YUM! Normally my breakfasts are big, because after my adventures in my dreams I need some energy to start normal life again.

Porridge has always been one of my favorite morning meals. Okay, a croissant will put a smile on my face as well, but than after an hour I will get hungry again. As a little I girl I started with the traditional oatmeal and milk, but now that I can cook for myself I wanted to try something different. After searching through some food blogs I saw a lot of bloggers writing about buckwheat. The only Buckwheat I knew was the cute little, pickle-loving boy from “The Little Rascals”, as an educated girl I figured that those two could not be the same. I found out that buckwheat, or boekweit in Dutch, is a great substitute for oatmeal. It is not a grain, but a fruit seed, so people who want or have to eat gluten free can make this recipe as well.

Apart from being gluten free it is also good for you metabolism, the functioning of your liver in processing hormones, medicines and glucoses, and for those who have a high blood pressure; it makes your blood vessels relax a little, because it is full of magnesium.

Buckwheat has a nutty flavor, maybe you have to get used to it, but with my recipe you will fall in love with it. (Not the tv-character, the fruit seed) What are your favorite breakfast meals?

For my Lovely Buckwheat Porridge you will need for 1 person:

  • ½ cup of buckwheatBridalcrown
  • 1 cups of water
  • 1 teaspoon of coconut oil
  • 1 tablespoon of cocoa nibs
  • 1 tablespoon of linseeds
  • 1 tablespoon of goji berries
  • 1 tablespoon of maple syrup
  • A pinch of cinnamon
  • Optional: a dash of milk (almond, rice or cow’s)
  1. Pour the water into a small pot bring it to a boil
  2. Add the buckwheat, stir well and turn down the heat
  3. Let it simmer for about 7 minutes
  4. Take it off of the stove and pour into a bowl
  5. Add the coconut oil and stir it through your porridge
  6. Now you can start decorating your bowl with the other ingredients
  7. If you think your porridge has turned out a little bit to dry; add the optional dash of milk

Enjoy your buckwheat porridge and start a great day!!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Copyright © 2013 Room for Food. All rights reserved.
2 gedachtes over “Lovely Buckwheat Porridge

  1. Eline zegt:

    Rosie, I have a very important question…. To start with a short introduction. During my vacation in Thailand I became a huge fan of one of Thailands best products….The Coconut. My love started with drinking the fresh coconutwater on the beach, the restaurant….and after a while I drunk this holy water when- and wherever and as much as I could. On a average day I drunk 3 to 4 coconuts a day. I loved it and it made me feel sooo good.
    In a Thai Cookingcourse a Thai chef told me everything about this amazing coconut and about all the qualities. That’s why I felt soooo good. Thai people use every single thing of both the coconut and the coconuttree. They use it for cooking, medicine, cosmetics etc. After my cookingcourse I increased my daily coconut intake, not only with coconutwater but also curries and desserts based on coconutmilk and every morning I started the day with a tablespoon of coconutoil. Damn I felt great and I must say I looked pretty good aswell. I started some more research on the WIFI network while overlooking the blue sea. As a good coconutbeliever you can only spread the word if you know all the ins and outs. This felt as a misson, everybody should know about the coconut. Maybe I could start my own coconutstore back home. Unfortunately after a few clicks I found out that Hollywood already knows about the ‘ holy water’ and that the dutch ‘Appie’ even sells coconutwater…. I didn’t feel so special anymore, but my love for mr. coconut was so big that I decided to bring some coconut-ingredients home just for myself. I bought coconutoil and coconutsugar.
    Now I use my coconutsugar in the porridge, not every morning only when I feel that I need some sweetness that day. But there is one problem…. I can’t use my coconutoil….it’s too cold in Holland for my coconutoil, it’s as hard as an icecube. Dear Rose, how the hell on earth do I get my coconutoil liquid again??

    Ps. I hope my story also inspires you to find a nice new recipe with a touch of coconut and I hope you will share!

    X

    • roomforfood zegt:

      Dearest Eline,

      It must feel like a huge deception, when ounthink you discovered something, but than there where some people before you. But you are right about coconuts. I love coconut, when I was younger I had “kokosbrood” on my sandwich, that is a slice of pressed sugary coconut. From then on I loved it, I could drink a can of coconut milk. Coconut water is much healthier and also delicious, just like the coconut sugar, which doesn’t give you the same blood sugar spikes as normal sugar.

      Now over to your question, coconut oil gets hard really fast, but it also liquidifies quite fast; around 25 degrees celcius. So put your coconut oil in your washing room, when the dryer is on, or cut out a bit of the oil out of the pot and put it in a glass, than put that glass in a bigger one with warm water and the oil will melt (au bain marie).

      I have my coconut oil in the cupboard above the oven, nice and warm…

      Good luck!

      PS did you know that you can use coconut oil on your skin as a body butter. Damn girl, you will look even better!

Geef een reactie

