Delicious Toasted Pumpkin Seeds

Delicious toasted pumpkin seeds

I do not like to throw food away. Okay, sometimes you really have to, but I always use leftovers, even the tiniest bits of salad are thrown in a new one the next day.

Luckily I did not grow up in a poor family, but nowadays so many people do and thinking of them makes me more creative to use every single bit of food there is left.

When you cut open a pumpkin, the first thing you do is getting rid of the seeds. I used to throw them away, just like would do with lemon seeds. But then I found out that pumpkin seeds could be a great snack. A few months ago I made my first batch and since than I make them every time I have a pumpkin for dinner.

This time I made them with nutritional yeast (Edelgistvlokken in Dutch). Nutritional yeast is a good Parmesan cheese replacement; it is savory, full of vitamin B12, folic acid, protein and a whole lot of other good stuff.

Here is how I toasted the pumpkin seeds, all you need is about 60 minutes of your time and:

  • Seeds of a pumpkin
  • Coconut oil (or olive oil)
  • Nutritional yeast, salt, onion powder, paprika powder, cinnamon or any kind of seasoning you like
  1. Preheat the oven to 150°C
  2. Take the seeds out of the pumpkin
  3. Clean the seeds with some water and make sure you get rid of the pulp
  4. Dry the seeds with a paper towel
  5. Pour the oil over them and add your preferred seasoning (when you are using nutritional yeast add it after toasting the seeds, so all the nutrients of the yeast stay preserved)
  6. Spread the seeds in one layer over a baking sheet and put them in the oven for 45 minutes
  7. Please keep an eye on them every now and then, so they don’t get burned and stir them every 15 minutes
  8. Et voilà, delicious toasted pumpkin seeds. Cool them for a few minutes and toss them in a salad or eat them like they are

How do you use your leftovers? And what is your favorite leftover recipe?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Copyright © 2013 Room for Food. All rights reserved.
Een gedachte over “Delicious Toasted Pumpkin Seeds

Geef een reactie

